AYN RAND

Any Rand .

she is one of the authors that have influenced my thought and brought a change (which i lately acknowledged ) in the way i look at things . She answered some and brought lots of new questions to my mind , her works – i found them quite troubling at first , but now i understand them a bit differently everytime( i read  Atlas Shrugged 3 times )

I like her phylosophy , her take on life – oh i don’t agree with her on most things though . the things i like most about her – her view on “work”.

i read the fountainhead, atlas shrugged, we the living..

some interesting quotes from her works –

‘I swear by my life and my love of it that I will never live for the sake of another man, nor ask another man to live for mine”

“There’s nothing of any importance except how well you do your work.”

“Happiness is that state of consciousness which proceeds from the achievement of one’s values.”

“To deal with men by force is as impractical as to deal with nature by persuasion.”

“It is not advisable, James, to venture unsolicited opinions. You should spare yourself the embarrassing discovery of their exact value to your listener.”- this we can afford to remember ..

“Show me your achievement, and the knowledge will give me courage for mine.”

images

Rand’s philosophical system is  Objectivism.in politics she promoted individual rights and laissez faire capitalism .

The book that made her famous was – ‘the fountainhead “.

What i particularly don’t like about her books is the thing that they are preachy and too long .pick them up for serious reading only .

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Shaili said,

    Dear Kishna,
    There might be many flaws in the quotes because of your “experiences”. But there might be definitely a big flaw in your brain and ego.

    Ayn Rand is NOT the starter of objectivism, philosophical ideas have no origin in individuals. EACH person who is by nature curious has experience with most philosophical “ideas”. It is obvious. her works simply made it popular in the west as her books were read by teenagers too. Your claim of grasp on comments in this blog on human functioning and psychology are more or less cartesian. You almost claim that other than you no body has no experience in life and ideas. You definitely need to know that your knowledge is laughable.
    And your method almost pathetic.

    I think you need to know what Sankhya philosophy is about.

  2. 2

    Shaili said,

    kISHNA

    You said >> it seems you havenot changed much…..but I did change alot….deep down,if you wish to see,I havenot changed…I am the same person you had seen,you are seeing and you might see in future…..but I change everyday….

    Do you even know me? What do you mean that I haven’t changed much? Another exmple of your Cartesian outlook towards things. I am an Ayn Rand “fan” and just was scanning through the latest blog entires on her on bloglines and came across this post on this blog. And saw your comment all over the blog.
    Neither do I know you nor do I have any interest. You surely need a chill pill.

  3. 3

    Shaili said,

    Chill sir. Chill.

    I do not have the time to get into meaningless discussions with “intellectuals” like you.

    Having said that here are two things:

    1. You say you think differently. PLEASE note that, Well everyone does, so please learn to respect other’s thoughts too. Your comments on this blog are all I know about you. And you are almost trying to show that the author has zero knowledge and you are the only born gyaani.
    I have felt reading your comments that one of your intention is to show the author down. At least it seems like that.

    2. I said you SOUND Cartesian to me. It has nothing to do with Cartesian geometry dude. It can be used to designate a thought process and a philosophy too. You seem to have no respect for other’s feelings, experiences and thinking.
    Good for you.

  4. 4

    mahathileo said,

    discussion about philosophical ideas is good , it enriches our knowledge , i agree . but i think fighting over to assert the supremacy of one philosophical school over other is not a constructive idea.
    whatever set of ideas (principles) we follow are individualized , ever changing with our perception of external environment .
    oh if everybody keeps to their own ideas without forcing it on others the world would be a much better place (ex: consider the religious fanatics(not all preachers , don’t take offense ) , but i think its in human nature to preach,lead and follow …
    oh ya we are called as social animals – civilized ,”homo sapiens are notable for their desire to understand and influence the environment around them“- so says the wikipedia , so i guess its wishful thinking on my part .

  5. 5

    Shaili Ranganathan said,

    Krishna,
    I had a fun time reading your comments. You certainly are one of the most retarded people around.

    I am not a “him”, I am a “her”. I thought somebody who claimed to have knowledge of all philosophies in the world would know the meaning of a Sanskritize feminine name. But, alas.

    And congratulations for your achievement in that Ayn Rand observation.

  6. 6

    Shaili said,

    I am amused by the way you have been put off by my “behavior”.

    I was only trying to show you how YOU behave and I think I have been reasonably successful.
    . I have no interest in engaging in pseudo-intellectuals like you.

  7. 7

    Shaili said,

    And also whatever you just preached above. PRACTICE IT FIRST.

  8. 8

    mah said,

    oh why this revisiting ?

  9. 9

    Shaili said,

    most of the times,I keep my mouth shut even if I have a point

    Sure, But you surely do open your mouth when you don’t have a point or don’t even have an idea of what you are talking or what is being talked about.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

